FreePint: Join Join FreePint and receive the Newsletter every two weeks for free. Join now »
|
|
|
If you find FreePint useful, please supply a testimonial »
|
|
FreePint Family:
 Monthly magazine reviewing business information products »
 Articles, tools, and a monthly magazine, to give you practical help with information skills »
 Recruit for information-related roles, or find your next challenge. »
 Daily update of web-based resources »
 Daily update of free, full-text reports »
|
|
|
|
Home > Forum > Bar > Message |
|
|
Join FreePint and receive the twice-weekly Bar Digest and twice-monthly tip-packed Newsletter. It's free. [ more ]
|
|
|
|
 The FreePint Bar is generously sponsored by Dow Jones Factiva.
|
|
|
| Start New | Message Index  | Flat View |
| Legitimate universities? |
| Author: | Dean Wingrin |
| Date: | Thursday, 13th Sep 2001 12:40 |
| Views: | 6,272 (excluding Digests and RSS feeds) |
| Category: | Language, Education, Arts and Events | | URL: | http://www.freepint.com/go/b12769 |
|
Hi
I've just received an aplicatation from a prospective employee stating that he had received a degree from Newport University, Newport Beach, California, USA. I found a website at www.newport.edu.
In addition, he has an MBA from Knightsbridge University, UK (www.knightsbridge-uni.com?). Four months later, he received a Doctorate from the same institution!
Has anyone heard of these universities and are they legitimate? I know that you can 'buy' degrees from Brentwood University in the UK. Are these two universities in the same catagory?
Many thanks.
Cheers
Dean Wingrin |
|
| Start New | |
| Topic |
Author |
Date |
ID |
| Legitimate universities? | | Hi
I've just received an aplicatation from a prospective employee stating that he had received a degree from Newport University, Newport ... |
|
Dean Wingrin |
13/09/01 12:40 |
12769 |
 | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Dear Dean --
I apoligize for this; please read the message that comes before this one, in the regular digest. ... |
|
Edward W. Stollery II |
22/09/01 05:28 |
12962 |
 | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Legitimate UK based universities are all suffixed .ac.uk and I believe the USA follows a similar line with the .edu ... |
|
Steve Wintersgill |
18/09/01 15:25 |
12860 |
  | Re: Legitimate universities? | | The .edu extension does cover elementary schools, high schools, colleges, and universities in the U.S., but it is no guarantee ... |
|
Kay Cunningham |
19/09/01 14:59 |
12888 |
 | Re: Legitimate universities? | | There is an alphabetic list of regionally accredited American colleges and Universities available at:
http://www.utexas.edu/world/univ/alpha/
Newport University is not on the list.
This ... |
|
Margie Knauff |
17/09/01 20:22 |
12837 |
 | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Because of the alleged downgrading of standards, there is a spoof site devoted to self help qualifications, created by those ... |
|
Ian Hamer |
14/09/01 22:14 |
12810 |
 | Re: Legitimate universities? | | I believe that I have seen advertisements for degrees awarded by the Knightsbridge, in the Guardian (Tuesdays). They are ... |
|
Lynn |
14/09/01 19:16 |
12806 |
 | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Whatever "Knightsbridge" and "Brentwood" may be, they are not authorised to award degrees in the UK. The authoritative list is ... |
|
Patrick Wallace |
13/09/01 14:52 |
12773 |
|
Peter Travis |
17/09/01 17:42 |
12833 |
   | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Hi Peter
If it's any help, Oxford call their doctorates DPhil, not PhD. They are very protective about their name so ... |
|
Simon Collery |
17/09/01 19:49 |
12834 |
|
Peter Travis |
17/09/01 20:00 |
12836 |
     | Re: Legitimate universities? | | From my experience working in this sort of area, since the latest Data Protection Act, the view is that there ... |
|
Patrick Wallace |
19/09/01 15:21 |
12889 |
     | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Hi Peter
I contacted Oxford University's Information Office and got the following response:
To confirm a former student's qualifications, please contact the ... |
|
Simon Collery |
18/09/01 09:54 |
12851 |
|
Peter Travis |
18/09/01 11:24 |
12853 |
       | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Hi Peter
I think Clare is probably a woman. Perhaps a fax may work better than a phone call?
Regards
Simon
Content Developer, Free ... |
|
Simon Collery |
18/09/01 11:53 |
12854 |
  | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Hi Patrick
Many thanks for the link. When you're in South Africa, we often come across 'life experience' degrees! At least ... |
|
Dean Wingrin |
14/09/01 09:08 |
12781 |
   | Re: Legitimate universities? | | I should have said - for US universities, there is an established system of accreditation and a monster reference book, ... |
|
Patrick Wallace |
14/09/01 11:40 |
12784 |
    | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Patrick
Once again, many thanks. I'm always looking for ways to identify these 'suspect' universities!
It appears that it is legal to ... |
|
Dean Wingrin |
14/09/01 15:29 |
12797 |
     | Re: Legitimate universities? | | On the subject of the status of universities and degress, eaders may also be interested in an article in the ... |
|
Mary Wood |
17/09/01 14:49 |
12826 |
     | Re: Legitimate universities? | | Technically, it's illegal in the UK to describe yourself as a university and award degrees unless you have a Royal ... |
|
John Birtwistle |
17/09/01 14:26 |
12822 |
      | Re: Legitimate universities? | | I stand corrected, but at least I managed to obtain an MBA through Free Pint!
Perhaps William can start 'FREE PINT ... |
|
Dean Wingrin |
17/09/01 14:44 |
12825 |
Please note: The reply form is not showing because the posting is older than six months or the thread is locked. Please start a new topic or contact the forum administrator.
|
|